First 20 g reef tank

Sookie

Hello all!

I'm new to SW tanks, and last week I decided to purchase a 20 gallon from old town aquariums (Are any of you familiar with that place?). Here's my setup:

- 20 gallon (24"x12"x16")
- 100 w heater
- 1x koralia nano
- 20.2 lbs of live rock (5 cured, 1 uncured piece. All from coral reef, near lawrence and harlem. Any of you familiar with that place?)
- 20 lbs of live aragonite sand (from petco)

I mixed RO water from CVS with Instant Oceans salt mix and the tank has been running for a week. I haven't seen any ammonia spikes yet. Should I throw in a piece of raw shrimp?

Parameters:

5/20
ammonia 0.25
temp 78
SG 1.023
nitrite 0.0

5/24
SG 1.023
ammonia 0-0.25 (those colors are so darn to discriminate)
nitrite 0.0
Ph 7.8-8.0
temp 78

The first pic is the aquascape. The second shows a starfish? Are they pests?

Hello all!

I'm new to SW tanks, and last week I decided to purchase a 20 gallon from old town aquariums (Are any of you familiar with that place?). Here's my setup:

- 20 gallon (24"x12"x16")
- 100 w heater
- 1x koralia nano
- 20.2 lbs of live rock (5 cured, 1 uncured piece. All from coral reef, near lawrence and harlem. Any of you familiar with that place?)
- 20 lbs of live aragonite sand (from petco)

I mixed RO water from CVS with Instant Oceans salt mix and the tank has been running for a week. I haven't seen any ammonia spikes yet. Should I throw in a piece of raw shrimp?

Parameters:

5/20
ammonia 0.25
temp 78
SG 1.023
nitrite 0.0

5/24
SG 1.023
ammonia 0-0.25 (those colors are so darn to discriminate)
nitrite 0.0
Ph 7.8-8.0
temp 78

The first pic is the aquascape. The second shows a starfish? Are they pests?